top of page

Compositions —

Listen to an excerpt

Blunt Music

1986 • 13 minutes • Two marimbas, two pianos


Blunt Music was completed in April of 1986. The title refers to the 'bluntness' of the main body of the work - a constant, loud, driving rhythmic force from beginning to end.

After a short introduction in which the pitch material of the work is introduced (it hovers between dominant seventh chords on E and Bb) the bulk of the work is concerned with various rhythmic cells which repeat a fair number of times but never in an exact fashion. The desired effect is of constant expectations of rhythm (especially metric rhythm) being met, but also constantly displaced, leaving the listener 'on edge', as with a march in which the steps get mixed up.

Blunt Music was premiered by The New Art Quartet in 1988.

bottom of page